Jefferson Parish Civil Courts & Fifth Court of Appeals & U.S District Courts for the Eastern District of Louisiana

Civil Courts in Kenner — Jefferson Parish, Louisiana
in which a Personal Injury Lawyer would file a personal injury lawsuit


If your claim is worth  at least $3000 then you will file in the District Court, which have unlimited civil jurisdiction:

Jefferson 24th Judicial District Court
Donelon Courthouse
200 Derbigny Streets, PO Box 10
Gretna, LA 70053
(504) 364-2900

Jefferson 24th Judicial District Court
1221 Elmwood Park Boulevard
Jefferson, LA 70123
(504) 736-6390





You may also file in this court, which has jurisdiction for claims up to $25,000:

Jean Lafitte City Court
2654 Jean Lafitte Boulevard
Lafitte, LA 70067
(504) 689-2208

If you want to appeal a decision from a civil court, you will do that here:


The Louisiana Courts of Civil Appeals

(Fifth Circuit)

Parish Coverage:

Jefferson, St. Charles, St. James, and St. John

The Intermediate Appellate Court for Louisiana is located at:

101 Derbigny Street
Gretna, LA 70053
(504) 376-1400

If you want to appeal an appellate decision you will file a writ of certiorari here:


The Supreme Court of Louisiana

400 Royal Street
New Orleans, LA 70130
(504) 310-2300

Chief Justice Catherine D. Kimball

Associate Judge Greg G. Guidry

Associate Judge Jeffrey P. Victory

Associate Judge Jeannette Theriot Knoll

Associate Judge Marcus R. Clark

Associate Judge John L. Weimer

Associate Judge Bernette J. Johnson






Supreme Court of Louisiana Case Search

If there is diversity or a "federal question," then a personal injury lawsuit can be filed here:

United States District Court

The Eastern District of Louisiana

 Main office:
Hale Boggs Federal Building
United States Courthouse
500 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
(504) 589-7600
(504) 589-7697

CM/ECF Help Desk Number: (800) 676-6856



(504) 589-7605

(504) 589-7525

(504) 589-7510

(504) 589-7515

(504) 589-7540

(504) 589-7645

(504) 589-7545

(504) 589-7550

(504) 589-7520

(504) 589-7555

(504) 589-7565

(504) 589-7570

(504) 589-7520

(504) 589-7595


Map of USDC Eastern District of Louisiana


The Eastern District covers the following Louisiana parishes.

Assumption, Jefferson, Lafourche, Orleans, Plaquemines, St. Bernard, St. Charles, St. James, St. John the Baptist, St. Tammany, Tangipahoa, Terrebonne, and Washington.

If you wished to appeal from one of the trial courts in the United States District Court for the Eastern District of Louisiana , you would appeal to the Fifth Circuit United States Court of Appeals located in New Orleans, Louisiana.

Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals

600 South Maestri Place
New Orleans, LA 70130-3408
(504) 310-7700

The Judges in the Fifth Circuit are:

Edith H. Jones, Chief Judge
515 Rusk Avenue, Room 12505, Houston, TX 77002-2655
(713) 250-5484

Carolyn Dineen King
515 Rusk Avenue, Room 11020, Houston, TX 77002-2694
(713) 250-5750

E. Grady Jolly
245 E. Capitol Street, Room 202, Jackson, MS 39201-2414
(601) 965-4165

W. Eugene Davis
800 Lafayette St., Suite 5100, Lafayette, LA 70501-6883
(337) 593-5280

Jerry E. Smith
515 Rusk Avenue, Room 12621, Houston, TX 77002-2698
(713) 250-5101

Emilio M. Garza
8200 I-10 West, Suite 501, San Antonio, TX 78230-3878
(210) 525-2950

Fortunato P. Benavides
903 San Jacinto Blvd., Room 450, Austin, TX 78701-2450
(512) 916-5796

Carl E. Stewart
300 Fannin Street, Suite 2299, Shreveport, LA 71101-3074
(318) 676-3765

James L. Dennis
600 Camp Street, Room 219, New Orleans, LA 70130-3425
(504) 310-8000

Edith Brown Clement
600 Camp Street, Room 200, New Orleans, LA 70130-3425
(504) 310-8068

Edward C. Prado
755 E. Mulberry Ave., Suite 350, San Antonio, TX 78212-3186
(210) 472-4060

Priscilla R. Owen
903 San Jacinto Boulevard, Room 434, Austin, TX 78701-2450
(512) 916-5167

Jennifer Walker Elrod
515 Rusk Avenue, Room 12014, Houston, TX 77002-2603
(713) 250-7590

Leslie H. Southwick
245 E. Capitol Street, Room 222, Jackson, MS 39201
(601) 965-4017

Catharina Haynes
1100 Commerce Street, Room 1264, Dallas, TX 75242
(214) 753-2750

Senior Judges:

Thomas M. Reavley
515 Rusk Avenue, Room 11009, Houston, TX 77002-2605
(713) 250-5185

Will Garwood
903 San Jacinto Blvd., Room 300, Austin, TX 78701-2450
(512) 916-5113

Patrick E. Higginbotham
903 San Jacinto Blvd., Room 400, Austin, TX 78701-2450
(512) 916-5723

Jacques L. Wiener, Jr.
600 Camp Street, Room 244, New Orleans, LA 70130-3425
(504) 310-8098

Rhesa H. Barksdale
245 E. Capitol St., Room 200, Jackson, MS 39201-2414
(601) 965-5840

Harold R. DeMoss, Jr.
515 Rusk Avenue, Room 12015, Houston, TX 77002-2605
(713) 250-5462

























Opinions of the United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit

States that make up the 5th Circuit are Texas, Louisiana, and Mississippi.

If you wished to appeal from the 5th Circuit, you would file a Writ of Certiorari with:

The United States Supreme Court
Washington, D.C.

Contact information for the Supreme Court of the United States and its Justices:

Clerk's Office: (202) 479-3011
Public Information Office: (202) 479-3211
General Inquiry: (202) 479-3000

Supreme Court of the United States
1 First Street NE
Washington, DC 20543


The chambers of the Supreme Court Justices are located mainly on the second floor of the Supreme Court building, with the exception of Justice Ginsburg's third floor chambers. Their individual chambers are not available to the public, and no direct phone line to a Justice exists for the public. The Justices may be contacted only via traditional mail. The nine Justices and the preferred way to address a letter are listed below.

Chief Justice John G. Roberts

Address correspondence to:
The Honorable John G. Roberts
Chief Justice of the United States Supreme Court

Justice Antonin Scalia

Address correspondence to:
The Honorable Antonin Scalia
Associate Justice

Justice Anthony M. Kennedy

Address correspondence to:
The Honorable Anthony M. Kennedy
Associate Justice

Justice Clarence Thomas

Address correspondence to:
The Honorable Clarence Thomas
Associate Justice

Justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg

Address correspondence to:
The Honorable Ruth Bader Ginsburg
Associate Justice

Justice Stephen G. Breyer

Address correspondence to:
The Honorable Stephen G. Breyer
Associate Justice

Justice Samuel Anthony Alito

Address correspondence to:
The Honorable Samuel Anthony Alito
Associate Justice

Justice Sonia Sotomayor

Address correspondence to:
The Honorable Sonia Sotomayor
Associate Justice

Justice Elena Kagan

Address correspondence to:
The Honorable Elena Kagan
Associate Justice


Read the latest United States Supreme Court Slip Opinions

Personal Injury Attorneys Serve Kenner and Surrounding Cities

Serving clients throughout Southeastern Louisiana, including Destrehan, Harahan, Kenner, Metairie, New Orleans, River Ridge, South Kenner, St. Rose, and other communities in Jefferson Parish.

Kenner Personal Injury Attorneys are experienced trial lawyers and can represent you in federal and state courts throughout the Greater Kenner area.Contact a Kenner Personal Injury Lawyer today for a FREE INITIAL CONSULTATION.